Although the Lodge was formed in 1868, its origins go back another 150 years where its predecessors held Lodges in Buxton,
Longnor and Lichfield : namely the Lodge of Unity and the Derbyshire Lodge.
Since its formation in 1868, the Lodge has held its meetings in Buxton at the Crescent Hotel, Collinson’s Café, Town Hall and since 1957 at the Old Court House on George Street.
The Lodge takes its name, Phoenix from it being commemorative of its rising from the ashes of the previous Lodge, coupled to that of the Patron Saint of Buxton (St Ann).
It has in its possession, many artefacts of historical interest dating back to1718, some of which remain in use today.
Two publications document the history of the Lodge and its predecessors entitled:-
- History of Freemasonry in Buxton and Longnor (1906)
- One Hundred Years On (1969)
A third publication is in preparation and will be available in time for the 150th year celebration in 2018 and will include photographic and social records of all the Masters of the Lodge since its formation. The Lodge already has a unique permanent pictorial display of the Past Masters of the Lodge from its formation in 1868.
Freemasonry within England and Wales is organised under the auspices and direction of the United Grand Lodge of England and Wales (located in London ) and locally the Province of Derbyshire (located in Derby and covering the Shire where there are 74 Lodges).
The Lodge is amongst the oldest within the Province of Derbyshire and numbered 1235 ( the lower the number the older the Lodge).